About Us | Advertise | RSS | Sat, Mar 28 07:00

  • Corydon Instant Print

Crawford County school board takes initial step toward adopting 2020 budget

August 28, 2019
In a brief meeting last Tuesday night, the Crawford County Community School Corp. Board of Trustees took the first step toward adopting the 2020 budget and approved several personnel recommendations.

As part of a budget workshop within its regular meeting, the board voted 6-0 (Trustee Myrna Sanders was absent) to publish the notice of the proposed 2020 budget to taxpayers. A public hearing will take place Sept. 17 during the board's next regular meeting, while the planned adoption will be during the regular meeting on Oct. 15.

In another matter, the board, following a motion by Larry Bye that was seconded by Wayne Carothers, approved a contract with Harrison County Hospital to provide telehealth services.

The board at its May meeting approved participating in the Indiana Rural School Clinic Network telehealth program. The IRSCN, through a grant, is providing the necessary equipment, while HCH is the medical partner.

In May, Kathleen Chelminiak, project director of the IRSCN, told the board the program is aimed at treating traditional school illnesses, such as strep throat, rashes and pink eye.

"The goal is to get access to care for our students and teachers so that they don't have to potentially leave the school building in order to get diagnosed for something that might be going around," she said.

In preparation of a potential renovation and expansion project that would bring the high school and middle school under the same roof, the board, at Superintendent Mike Key's recommendation, voted 6-0 to appoint a board of directors for the building corporation.

Lance Stroud made a motion, which was seconded by Troy Wheeler, to name community members Wayne Larimore, Eric Gilmore, Jackie Hecht, Steve Harvey and Sherry Newton to the board.

The board, also at Key's recommendation, approved, 6-0, the following:

Amy Belcher as High Ability coordinator.

Heather Minton as E-learning coordinator.

A request to charge school corporation credit with South Central Area Special Education Cooperative in the amount of $975 ($75 for 13 teachers) to cover special education cooperative orientation day outside of certified contracted days for 2019-20.

To cover special education cooperative orientation days outside of certified contracted days for future years at an amount of $75 per person for special education new school year orientation.

The trustees also voted 6-0 to approve the following consent agenda items:

The following resignations: Robert Setser, girls' seventh-grade basketball coach at Crawford County Middle School; Carly Kaiser, A- and B-team basketball coach at South Crawford Elementary School; Jelynn Sheckells, cheer and dance coach at SCES; Craig Adams, boy's fourth- and fifth-grade basketball coach at West Crawford Elementary School; Jennifer Carrico, girls' assistant softball coach at Crawford County High School; Nikki Bigham, cross country coach at WCES; Heather Minton, speech and drama coach at CCHS; Jason Sturgeon, C-team basketball coach at CCHS; Taylor Nichols, special education teacher at CCMS; Kristy Grider, Title I aide at CCMS; Nanetta Duke, special education emotional aide; and James Gabbard, custodian at CCHS, effective Aug. 23.

The following recommendations at CCHS from Principal Brandon Johnson: Jerry Hanger, varsity boys' basketball coach; Jennifer Miller, homebound instructor for severe and profound special education students for the 2019-20 school year; Heather Nichols, speech and drama coach; Tiffany Stroud, part-time cook; Jerry Lynn Hanger Jr., boys' varsity assistant basketball coach; Kay Lea Crecelius, girls' varsity assistant basketball coach; Tanner Manship, varsity assistant football coach; Michael Carlisle, junior varsity football coach; Jeff Balmer, boys' head track coach; Lucas Stroud as assistant cross country coach; Michael Carlisle as wrestling coach; Pam Beckman, girls' tennis coach; and Brynleigh Oster, dance coach.

The following recommendations at CCMS from Principal Brandy Stroud: Melanie Embry, mild special education aide; Miranda Kellum, co-PL 221 school improvement chair and High Ability contact; Heather Williams, sixth-grade science teacher; Whitney Schwartz, seventh-grade social studies teacher; Nikki Bigham, cross country coach; Paul Broughton, eighth-grade girls' basketball coach; Jason Sturgeon, seventh-grade girls' basketball coach; Jason Wolf, sixth-grade girls' basketball coach; Samantha Sines, seventh- and eighth-grade cheerleading coach; and Terri Mitchell, sixth-grade cheerleading coach.

The following recommendations at SCES from Principal Amy Etienne: Daniel Fraley, A- and B-team boys' basketball coach; Jelynn Sheckells, A- and B-team girls' basketball coach; and Chelsea Bowman, cross country coach.

The following recommendations at WCES from Principal Amanda Wright: Ella Hensley, Title I aide; Julie Whitaker, Title I aide; Sarah Patton, boys' and girls' cross country coach; and Justin Hensley, A- and B-team boys' basketball coach.

The following recommendations at East Crawford Elementary School from Principal Tarra Carothers: Carolyn Pitman, A-team girls' basketball coach; and Sandy Walker, dance squad sponsor.

The following recommendations from Assistant Superintendent Jamie Smith: Alice Walker, 11.2-mile bus addendum for picking up newly enrolled students; Kathy House, two-mile bus addendum for picking up newly enrolled students; Ramona Garrett, 12.2-mile bus addendum due to new loading/unloading law; and Don Strange, shuttle route K.

The following hires: Nanetta Dukes, special education instructional assistant at CCHS; Julia Griffith, homebound teacher for a student at CCHS; Shannon Sheckells, full-time office aide at ECES; Crystal Wethington, instructional assistant at SCES; and Amy Baxley, special education teacher at CCMS.

The Family Medical Leave Act request of an employee.

The board also voted 4-2 (Bye and Dennis Talley against) to hire Scott Byerly as groundskeeper at CCHS.

At the close of the meeting, Talley, the board's president, announced that copies of the consent agenda will be available to the public at future meetings.

Email Link
Barbara Shaw
Schuler Bauer
Corydon Instant Print
News links
03 - 28 - 20
Bennett and Bennett Insurance
2020 This is Harrison County