About Us | Advertise | RSS | Sun, Sep 15 02:58

  • Uebelhor

Commissioner, council races to highlight fall

Floyd County Primary

May 14, 2008
Floyd County voters will have several county match-ups this fall, including a couple of commissioner seats, three at-large council positions and several courthouse positions.

Incumbent District 2 Commissioner Charles Freiberger, who was unopposed in the Democratic primary, will be challenged by Republican Party County Chair Dave Matthews, a former Greenville Town Council member who likewise was unopposed in his party's primary.

In the District 3 commissioner's race, incumbent Republican Steve Bush, who didn't face a challenger in the GOP primary, will be opposed by Dennis O. Roudenbush, who won the Democratic primary with no opposition.

The county council race will feature Democratic incumbents Randall T. Stumler, the party's county chair, and Carol Shope along with Ted Heavrin, who with vote totals of 8,574, 6,056 and 5,540, respectively, advanced from the nine-candidate primary.

They will be joined by Republicans Larry M. Summers, incumbent Dana Fendley and Harry T. Harbison, who tallied 1,412, 1,359 and 1,347 votes, respectively, to make it out of the six-person GOP primary.

The top three vote-getters in the fall will be elected to at-large seats.

Three superior court judge positions will be on the fall ballot. For superior court judge No. 1, Susan L. Orth, who defeated Michael J. McDaniel in the Democratic primary, 10,924 to 6,447, currently doesn't have a GOP challenger, but the Republican party may still slate a candidate.

Democrat Glenn G. Hancock will take on Republican Chris Lane for the superior court No. 2 position, as both candidates were unopposed in their primaries.

Maria Granger, who garnered 8,581 votes, defeated Stan Robison, 6,140 votes, and Richard G. Bolin, 2,069 votes, to earn the Democratic nomination for superior court judge No. 3. She will be challenged by Republican Richard R. Fox, who didn't have any primary opposition.

Other races will feature Democrat Leslie E. Knable, who defeated incumbent Greg Balmer, 8,277 to 7,850 votes, against Republican John Patrick Click for coroner; Democrat Darlene S. McCoy against Republican Lois Naville Endris for recorder; and Democrat Bette A. Buechler against Republican Linda L. Berger for treasurer. None of the recorder and treasurer candidates faced primary opposition.

For surveyor, incumbent Republican William B. Gibson, who was unopposed in the GOP primary, doesn't have a Democratic challenger for the fall. However, the Democrats have until noon on July 3 to place a candidate on the ballot.


Voters also filled three seats on the New Albany-Floyd County Community School Corp. Board of Trustees.

Incumbent Patricia Badger-Byrd collected 8,560 votes to defeat Paul Love, 5,379 votes, and Ronald D. Keller, 3,995 votes, for the open at-large seat.

In the District 3 race, incumbent Neal Allen Smith defeated Michael A. Dankovich, 8,678 to 8,414 votes.

Incumbent Rebecca Gardenour was unopposed for the District 4 seat.

Email Link
Schuler Bauer
Barbara Shaw
News links
09 - 15 - 19
Corydon Instant Print
Veterans section
Bennett and Bennett Insurance