About Us | Advertise | RSS | Fri, Aug 23 10:51

  • Uebelhor

Filing deadline nears for election

February 01, 2012
Candidates hoping to run for public office this year have a little more than a week, until noon on Friday, Feb. 10, to put their names on the dotted line.

Several candidates have already signed up, and the Crawford County Clerk's office is beginning to see an increased interest in the upcoming elections. The Indiana Primary Election will be on Tuesday, May 8, and the General Election will be on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

President Barack Obama will be seeking a second term in the White House this year. His Republican challenger may not be determined until at least the Indiana Primary on May 8, but, so far, there are still four candidates seeking the GOP nomination, including former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney, former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich, former Pennsylvania Sen. Rick Santorum and Texas Congressman Ron Paul.

Sen. Richard Lugar's seat is up for grabs this year, and Republican Richard Mourdock, currently the state treasurer, is challenging him in the Primary Election. Democrat Joe Donnelly, Libertarian Andy Horning and Independent Jack Rooney also are vying for the seat.

The governor's job is being sought by two Republicans, Indiana Sixth District Congressman Mike Pence and Jim Wallace, Democrats John Gregg, former Indiana House Speaker, and Thomas Lenfert and Libertarian Rupert Boneham.

The Ninth District congressional seat held by Republican Todd Young, who is seeking re-election, is being sought by three Democrats, Robert Winningham, Jonathan George and John W. Tilford.

District 74 State Rep. Sue Ellspermann has no opposition so far for the GOP nomination. Democrat Mike Schriefer, a former school superintendent from Santa Claus, has signed up to run for the seat.

It appears District 70 State Rep. Rhonda Rhoads, a Republican, will be challenged by Democrat Terry Miller, a former Harrison County commissioner, in the fall.

In Crawford County, candidates so far include the following (*incumbent):

Commissioner, District 2: Randy Gilmore*(D), Jim Montgomery (R) and Larry Young (R)

Commissioner, District 3: James Schultz* (D) and Morton Dale (R)

County Council, At-Large: Jerry Brewer* (D), Doug McLain* (D), William E. Breeding* (D) and Michael Allen Carlisle Sr. (R)

Treasurer: Kelly Slaughterback* (D) and Laura Atwood (R)

Coroner: Michelle Fitch (R)

Candidates who have filed in Harrison County include the following:

Circuit Court Clerk: Rilla Gerdon (D) and Sally Harbaugh Whitis (R)

Recorder: Debby Mathis (D) and Barbara Birkla Best* (R)

Coroner: Rusty Sizemore* (D) and Isaac Williams (R)

Surveyor: Harold Klinstiver* (R)

Commissioner, District 1: James Goldman* (D)

Commissioner, District 2: Carl L. (Buck) Mathes* (D), Scott Hussung (D) and Kenny Saulman (R)

Council At-Large: Leslie Robertson (D), Patricia (Pat) Wolfe (D), Sherry Brown (R), Doug Harkness (R), Jim Heitkemper (R) and M.E. Wallace (R)

County school corporations will have their election in November. Candidates will be able to file between July 25 and noon on Aug. 25.

Email Link
Schuler Bauer
Barbara Shaw
News links
08 - 23 - 19
Veterans section
Corydon Instant Print