About Us | Advertise | RSS | Fri, Sep 20 • 01:52

  • Uebelhor

G'town waives late fees, elects members

January 09, 2013
The Georgetown Town Council held special meetings on Dec. 28 and Jan. 1 in order to address the legality of a recent request from a township trustee and to elect officers.

At the council's Dec. 17 meeting, Joseph Moore was on hand to represent Georgetown Township Trustee Dennis Roudenbush. As a township trustee, Roudenbush provides assistance for persons in financial need.

Moore, on behalf of Roudenbush, requested a waiver on water and sewage late fees as well as the town's water tax from Roudenbush's constituents' bills.

The legality of waiving those fees was not known at the time. However, at the Dec. 28 meeting, it was decided, after discussion, that the town could legally waive the fees.

Council member Kathy Haller made a motion to approve doing so. Following a second by Councilman Jim Tripure, the motion was approved 3-1, with Mike Mills, president of the council, against.

The December meeting also saw Ordinance G-12-22 approved unanimously. The ordinance defines the boundaries of the voting districts within Georgetown.

Clerk-treasurer Doug Cook presented the 2012 write-off report. Each year the council is required to write off uncollectible debt. This year's total of uncollectible debt amounted to $1,766.02.

Tripure made the motion for approval, Haller seconded and it was approved by all.

The Jan. 1 special meeting of the town council dealt with election and appointments of council members to positions, committees and boards.

Mike Mills was nominated for president by Tripure, and Gerald Brock was nominated by Haller.

Mills and Tripure voted for Mills, and Haller and Brock voted for Brock. Attorney Mike Summers read the Indiana Code that authorizes the clerk-treasurer to vote in the event of a tie. Cook, therefore, cast the deciding vote to reappoint Mills as president.

Brock and Council member Patti Denison were nominated for the position of vice president. Haller nominated Brock, and Mills nominated Denison.

Tripure, Haller and Brock voted for Brock, while Mills voted for Denison, as Brock was elected.

In other positions:

•Michael Mercer was unanimously reappointed to the board of zoning appeals.

•Jim Reynolds was appointed to an advisory position to the Floyd County Plan Commission with a 3-1 vote. Haller was opposed.

•Haller was unanimously appointed to the River Hills Economic Development board.

•Denny Kunkel, Karen Pritchett, Jamie Schilmiller and Denison were appointed to the Safety Panel.

•Summers, Kunkel, Reynolds and Jonathan Leachman will all retain their respective positions. Kunkel is police chief, Reynolds is public works director and Leachman is assistant town attorney.

The council also discussed more open communication and the possibility of finding a more permanent home for the town's offices.

The next meeting of the Georgetown Town Council will take place on Tuesday, Jan. 22, at 6:30 p.m. at the Georgetown Optimist Club.

Email Link
Barbara Shaw
Schuler Bauer
News links
09 - 20 - 19
Veterans section
Corydon Instant Print