Posted on

Krempp Gallery site of juried art exhibition

Krempp Gallery site of juried art exhibition Krempp Gallery site of juried art exhibition

The 27th annual juried art exhibition, by the Jasper Community Arts, is now on display in the Krempp Gallery at the Jasper Arts Center. The show will run through Sept. 27.

The exhibit includes a variety of media and techniques — watercolor, oil, acrylic, prints, photography, collage, sculpture and graphite — and consists of two- and three-dimensional work.

Only artists from Indiana, its contiguous states or former residents could apply.

Due to COVID-19, there was no opening reception. However, Jasper Community Arts has posted a pre-recorded Discussion and Awards with the juror via Jasper Community Arts Facebook page.

Prize monies, totaling $2,000, were to be awarded in the categories of Best of Show, Award of Excellence, High Honor Award and five Honorable Mentions.

Juror Andy Jendrzejewski, co-founder of Art Space Vincennes LLC, is a sculptor living and working in Vincennes. His work ranges over many media. Through the years, he has welded and cast metals, created clay figurative sculptures, constructed found object assemblages and created temporary monumental environmental pieces in public places. He has worked with figurative, abstract and non-objective imagery.

Unlike many sculptors, Jendrzejewski is a generalist in that he not only works with many sculptural media types and styles, but also with photography, painting, drawing and collage. The label of sculpture does not always fit. Poetry might be just as descriptive.

Artists selected by the juror for the exhibit are:

From Indiana — Keith Hampton of English, Curtis Uebelhor of Ferdinand, Beth DeSchamp of Jasper, Cecily Jo Meyer of Huntingburg, Abby Laux of Celestine, Bill Whorrall of Shoals, Kazhia Kolb of St. Meinrad, Rob Millard-Mendez of Evansville, Bob Zasadny of Oakland City, James Viewegh of Martinsville, John Puffer of Vincennes, Mark Kebasso of Columbus, Wyatt Le-Grand of Bloomfield, Yichen Hu and Michael McAuley, both of Indianapolis, and Alexandra Giannell, Clarissa Pezone, Ivy Brenneman, Sara Steffey McQueen, Tiffany Hokanson and Wenyan Xu, all of Bloomington.

From Ohio — Debrah Butler of Kent and Lawrence Baker of Cleveland Heights.

From Kentucky — Elizabeth Clare Taylor of Bardstown, Lexie Millikan of Marion, Brent Oglesbee and Holly Oglesbee, both of Bowling Green, and Dennis Mader, Gweneth Dunleavy and Suzanne Spencer, all of Louisville.

From Illinois — Todd Snyder of East Peoria.

The Krempp Gallery is open to the public Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and on Sundays from noon to 3 p.m. It is also open by appointment by calling 1-812-482-3070.

The Krempp Gallery is managed by Jasper Community Arts, a department of the City of Jasper. JCA is supported by Friends of the Arts Inc., Indiana Arts Commission, Community Foundation Alliance and the National Endowment for the Arts.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *